National Championship at Easter


The Australian Scrabble Championship is one of the longest running tournaments on the Australian Scrabble calendar. The first six events, from 1980-1985 were organised by Murfett Regency as part of Melbourne's Moomba Festival. From 1986 onwards, the Australian Championship was organised by the Australian Scrabble Players Association and has now become a traditional feature of the Easter break down under.

In 1995 and 1996 there were two National Championships each year. One Championship used both English and North American words and the other used only Chambers words. Nowadays, tournaments are run to CSW15.

Venues rotate around the country, which effectively means each state and territory (except NT) hosts every seven years. This year, the venue is the national capital, Canberra, with the ACT branch of the Australian Scrabble Players' Association (ASPA) hosting.

We feature the four most recent champions here:

2017 Champion Russell Honeybun

2016 Champion Trevor Halsall

2015 Champion Peter Kougi

2014 Champion Daniel Piechnick

ASPA ACT is pleased to announce the venue for the 2018 Communities at Work Australian Scrabble Championship has been finalised.

The event will be held at Manuka Oval located on Manuka Circuit in the suburb of Griffith.

The Championship is open to international, as well as local, players, with the first international winning the main event in 1995. In recent years, players from New Zealand, Singapore, Malaysia and Thailand have all been greeted with typical Australian hospitality and joined the many locals to vie for the title in what is always an enjoyable event.

There are two Divisions at each Championship, each running for 24 rounds. The Main Division determines the National Champion and usually has a minimum Australian rating of 1300, allowing players under that rating to take part in the Plate Division, thus ensuring the Easter tournament caters to players at all levels.

Along with the photos of the recent winners photographed above, the overall honour board features many familiar names on both the domestic and international circuit and is included below:


1980 Ian Wilson
1981 John Holgate
1982 John Holgate
1983 Marie Knight
1984 Marie Knight
1985 Lynne Butler
1986 Moana Nepia
1987 John Holgate
1988 Steve Sunter
1989 Steve Sunter
1990 Nick Ivanovski
1991 Lena Boyd
1992 John Holgate
1993 Bob Jackman
1994 Trevor Halsall
1995 Joan Rosenthal
1995 Tony Sim
1996 Tony Sim
1996 John Holgate
1997 Paul Cleary
1998 John Holgate
1999 Paul Cleary
2000 Paul Cleary
2001 Edward Okulicz
2002 Cheah Siu Hean
2003 Bob Jackman
2004 Cheah Siu Hean
2005 Naween Fernando
2006 Andrew Fisher
2007 David Eldar
2008 Naween Fernando
2009 Andrew Fisher
2010 Naween Fernando
2011 Chris May
2012 Andrew Fisher
2013 David Eldar
2014 Daniel Piechnick
2015 Peter Kougi
2016 Trevor Halsall
2017 Russell Honeybun